History & The CU Difference

When you choose North Coast you are: Choosing to become an owner. Choosing to support local communities. Choosing to enjoy lower fees and loan rates. Choosing to benefit from caring friendly service. Credit Unions are different from Banks.

North Coast started at the Bellingham Firehouse in 1939

Back then loans were made out of a single cash drawer kept in a desk at the Firehouse and a loan transaction might be interrupted when the fire bell rang. Our first Annual Meeting was held at the Bellingham Fire Department headquarters, now the location of the Syre Educational Building. Throughout our history, devotion to our members has always been, and continues to be, our number one priority. 

City of Bellingham Employees Credit Union

City of Bellingham Employees’ Credit Union incorporated on May 19, 1939. Began in firehouse.

Membership Expanded

We expanded membership to include employees of City of Bellingham, Bellingham Postal Employees, and other Public Employees of Bellingham and Whatcom County.

Name changed to Whatcom Public Employees' Credit Union

To reflect the extended service to all Whatcom public employees, our name changed to Whatcom Public Employees’ Credit Union.

Name Changed

As our membership broadened to include Skagit County, our name changed to Public Employees’ Credit Union

Bellingham Dupont Branch Opened

North Coast CU Branch located on Dupont Street in Bellingham

Credit Union Merge

Pacific Cascade Credit Union merged with us.

First Skagit County Branch Opened in Mount Vernon

Ferndale Branch Opened

Name Changed

Name Changed to North Coast Credit Union

Community Charter Expanded

We expanded our community charter to include anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school in the State of Washington.

Sedro-Woolley Branch Opened

Second Bellingham Branch Opened

Pacific Northwest Credit Union merged into North Coast creating the second Bellingham location on Northwest Avenue

Anacortes Branch Opened

Tesoro Northwest Federal Credit Union merged into North Coast expanding our presence in Skagit County to three branches.